The Central Excise law is administered by the Central Board of Excise and Customs through its field offices, the Central Excise Commissionerates. For this purpose, the country is divided into 23 Zones and each Zone is headed by a Chief Commissioner of Central Excise. There are 101 Commissionerates in these Zones, headed by Commissioners of Central Excise. Divisions and Ranges are the next formations, headed by Deputy/Assistant Commissioner of Central Excise and Superintendents of Central Excise respectively.

After getting registration of Central Excise it is mandatory for the assesses to file Excise return within stipulated time period prescribed under Law Monthly/quarterly as prescribed by department on the basis of Turnover of the assesses as well as pay tax before due dates to avoid Interest and Penalty. It is also mandatory to file NIL return to avoid penalty levied by the Excise department.

Contact Us